Skip to content
September 18, 2024Updated 8 min read

Frontier vs AT&T Internet Service Review

frontier-vs-at-t-internet-service

Konecteaze may earn compensation when you call, click, or order through links on this page. How we make money

Four satellite dishes silhouetted on a rooftop against a cloudy blue sky
On this page · 10 sections

Choosing between AT&T and Frontier starts with which one can bring fiber to your address. Both sell fiber internet with equal upload and download speeds and no data caps, and both include Wi-Fi equipment with the fiber plans we checked. AT&T itself notes that fiber providers often serve different areas, so check which of the two actually serves your home before comparing prices. Where both do, the clearest differences on October 20, 2026 were how long the price lasts and what installation costs. Frontier listed Fiber 1 Gig for new customers at $64.99 a month, guaranteed for five years, with free installation; its offer does not say whether that price needs Auto Pay. AT&T listed its 1 GIG fiber plan for new customers at $70 a month for the first year with AutoPay and paperless billing, and an installation fee of up to $99 may apply.

Without fiber, the comparison changes. AT&T no longer sells DSL; where its fiber has not been built, it may offer AT&T Internet Air, a 5G home internet service. Frontier also sells a non-fiber service, Frontier Internet, but the Frontier pages we checked do not list its connection type, speeds or price, so ask Frontier exactly what it would install before you compare.

Which AT&T and Frontier services can reach your address?

Konecteaze may earn compensation when you call, click, or order through links on this page. How we make money

Order OnlineCall (833) 560-2619

Each company sells two kinds of home internet, and your address decides which of them, if any, you can get. For plans by address, see our AT&T and Frontier provider pages.

ServiceConnectionSpeeds the company listsData
AT&T FiberFiber-optic line to the home300 Mbps to 5 GIG where available, with equal upload and download speedsNo data caps
AT&T Internet Air5G fixed wireless through AT&T's All-Fi HubTypical 90 to 300 Mbps download and 8 to 30 Mbps upload, from AT&T's internal testsNo data caps; AT&T may slow speeds when the network is busy
Frontier FiberFrontier's fiber-optic network, in select areas500/500 Mbps up to 7,000/7,000 Mbps (7 Gig), maximum wired speedsNo data caps or overage charges
Frontier Internet (non-fiber)Not stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checkedNo data caps or overage fees

AT&T lists Internet Air from $55 a month, with AutoPay and paperless billing required, and says about 25% of the customers in its speed tests got less than the typical range. If one company offers fiber at your address and the other offers only a non-fiber service, compare upload speeds first: both fiber services advertise uploads equal to downloads, and AT&T says equal speeds help with video calls, cloud backups and sharing large files.

Fiber against fiber: the terms side by side

Where both companies offer fiber, these are the terms each published when we checked on October 20, 2026, with no address entered. Prices exclude taxes and fees and vary by address.

Compared onAT&T FiberFrontier Fiber
Speed tiers300 Mbps to 5 GIG, where available500 Mbps to 7 Gig, in select areas
UploadEqual to downloadEqual to download
Gigabit price listed1 GIG: $70 a month for 12 months with AutoPay and paperless billing, including a 12-month new-customer discount; $90 shown before discountsFiber 1 Gig: $64.99 a month, guaranteed for 5 years, for new residential customers at qualified addresses; the offer does not say whether Auto Pay is required
How long the price lastsNew-customer discount ($5 to $15 a month on 500 Mbps, 1 GIG and 5 GIG) lasts 12 months, then AT&T's prevailing rate appliesBase monthly rate guaranteed 4 years on Fiber 500 and 5 years on Fiber 1 Gig, 2 Gig and 5 Gig
InstallationSelf-install or a technician visit (typically four to six hours); an installation fee of up to $99 may apply$100 on Fiber 500; free on Fiber 1 Gig, 2 Gig and 5 Gig
Wi-Fi equipmentWi-Fi gateway at no extra cost; no gateway feeseero Pro 7 router included with Fiber 500, 1 Gig and 2 Gig; Whole-Home Wi-Fi $10 a month on Fiber 500, included on 1 Gig and faster
ContractNo annual contractDeals page advertises no contracts; Frontier's FAQ says select plans and Visa Reward Card offers need a 12-month commitment
DataNo data capsNo data caps or overage charges

Two details move the AT&T price. Its $10 AutoPay discount applies when you pay from a bank account or the AT&T Points Plus card; it drops to $5 with a debit card and to nothing with any other credit card, which adds $120 or $240 over two years. AT&T also says its discounts can take two or three bills to start, so early bills can be higher. On Frontier's side, the guarantee covers only the base monthly rate, not installation, extra equipment charges, discounts or promotions. Frontier's offer does not mention Auto Pay. Product information coded into its Fiber 1 Gig plan page, but not shown to shoppers, describes $64.99 as a price with Auto Pay for 12 months, which conflicts with the five-year guarantee the offer shows. Before you order, ask Frontier to confirm in writing whether $64.99 requires Auto Pay, what the plan costs without it, and that $64.99 is the rate the five-year guarantee covers. For both providers on one page, see our AT&T vs. Frontier comparison.

What two years of gigabit fiber could cost

A long price guarantee pays off after the first year, so this example prices 24 months at the gigabit tier. It assumes:

  • an address where both companies sell gigabit fiber, and a new customer ordering internet only;
  • AT&T AutoPay and paperless billing from a bank account, with both AT&T discounts starting on the first bill;
  • an AT&T second-year rate of $80. AT&T does not print this rate, so $80 is our inference: the $90 price AT&T showed before discounts, minus the $10 AutoPay discount;
  • Frontier's listed $64.99 applying at the address for all 24 months, with Auto Pay if Frontier requires it;
  • no phone-plan discounts, and no taxes or fees.
PlanMonths 1 to 12Months 13 to 24InstallationTwo-year total
AT&T Fiber 1 GIG$840 ($70 a month)$960 ($80 a month)$0 to $99$1,800 to $1,899
Frontier Fiber 1 Gig$779.88 ($64.99 a month)$779.88 ($64.99 a month)Free$1,559.76

In this example Frontier costs $240.24 to $339.24 less over two years, and most of the gap opens in year two, after AT&T's 12-month discount ends. Three things can change that:

  • A phone plan. AT&T lists a $20-a-month discount on 1 GIG fiber for customers with an eligible AT&T unlimited phone plan, for as long as they keep it; that lowers the AT&T total here to $1,320 to $1,419. Frontier advertises $15 a month off eligible Frontier Fiber plans for customers with a qualifying Verizon mobile plan, but the page we checked did not clearly say how long that discount lasts. If your household would use either, price both bundles.
  • AT&T's rate after 12 months. AT&T says only that its prevailing rate applies, so ask for that figure before you order.
  • Frontier's Auto Pay terms. If $64.99 needs Auto Pay and you would not use it, or if $64.99 is not the rate the five-year guarantee covers, the Frontier total rises. Confirm both before you order.

Four checks before you order

  1. See who reports service at the address. The FCC's National Broadband Map shows which providers report offering service at each home, with the technology and the maximum advertised download and upload speeds. That is provider-reported data, and you can challenge it, for example when a provider denies a request for service or fails to schedule an installation within 10 business days. Only each company's own address check and a written order confirm what you can buy.
  2. Ask which connection each company would install. AT&T Fiber or Internet Air; Frontier Fiber or Frontier's non-fiber service. Get the plan name and its download and upload speeds in writing.
  3. Read the broadband label for that plan. The FCC requires providers to have a broadband label for each plan and to make it available where they sell the plan, disclosing the price, any introductory rate, the data allowance and speeds. Compare the price after any introductory period ends.
  4. Price the whole bill. Add installation, Wi-Fi add-ons and taxes. AT&T adds a monthly State Cost Recovery charge in Nevada, Ohio and Texas. With Frontier, ask whether your plan carries the 12-month commitment and prorated early termination fee its FAQ describes.

Questions readers ask

Is Frontier Fiber or AT&T Fiber better?

Neither is better everywhere. Both advertise equal upload and download speeds and no data caps. In our October 20, 2026 check, Frontier offered a five-year price guarantee on Fiber 1 Gig and free installation on its 1 Gig, 2 Gig and 5 Gig plans. AT&T's fiber pages listed a 12-month new-customer discount rather than a price guarantee, a 300 Mbps plan at $50 a month with AutoPay, and a fiber discount for eligible AT&T phone customers. Start with whichever one serves your address.

Are Frontier and AT&T the same company?

No. AT&T lists Frontier among the other fiber providers to compare it with, and Frontier says it has joined Verizon. Frontier still sells its plans under the Frontier name.

Does AT&T still offer DSL?

No. AT&T says it no longer offers DSL service. Where AT&T Fiber has not been built, AT&T may offer Internet Air, its 5G home internet service, which AT&T says delivers typical download speeds of 90 to 300 Mbps and uploads of 8 to 30 Mbps.

How long do AT&T and Frontier prices last?

Frontier guarantees the base monthly rate for four years on Fiber 500 and five years on Fiber 1 Gig, 2 Gig and 5 Gig, but not installation, extra equipment charges, discounts or promotions. AT&T's new-customer fiber discount on its 500 Mbps, 1 GIG and 5 GIG plans lasts 12 months, after which AT&T's prevailing rate for the plan applies.

Sources and review

Reviewed October 20, 2026 (UTC) against the official pages below, with no address entered. Prices, plans and availability change and vary by address, so confirm them in a written, address-specific order. We did not install either service or run speed tests for this article. This update used AI-assisted drafting and source checking. See our methodology.

Compare internet options near you

Use your ZIP code to move from research to real local plans.

Keep exploring

Keep researching

Provider hubs, guides, and tools related to this article.